Town of Tewksbury
1009 Main Street, Tewksbury, MA 01876
License To Carry / FID application Check List


  • FEE $100.00 – Cash and Check accepted (Persons 70 years of age are free of charge)

  • Drivers License

  • Proof of Citizenship - Birth Certificate or Naturalization Papers and Passport

  • New Applicants - Must Have an approved Massachusetts Firearms Safety course Certification, (Mass Hunter Safety Course accepted for FID) or Mass State Police Approved Safety course State approved Courses



Link to Application





Safety Course is not required for the Restricted FID Chemical Propellants Only Cards, there is a $25 dollar fee for first time applicants, renewals are free.


Frequently Asked Questions can be referenced here by clicking on http://www.mass.gov/eopss/firearms-reg-and-laws/frb/

For information on whether or not you may be eligible to apply for and obtain a License To Carry, please refer to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140 Section 131, which can be found here: http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXX/Chapter140/Section131

For information on whether or not you may be eligible to apply and obtain a Firearms Identification Card, please refer to Massachusetts General Law 140 Section 129B, Which can be found here: http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXX/Chapter140/Section129B


To schedule an appointment please call the Records Department at 978-640-4381 ext 223 or ext 224. 

Any legal questions can be referred to Sgt. Harrington at ext 244