Town of Tewksbury
1009 Main Street, Tewksbury, MA 01876
Detective Division
detbadge.jpgThe Detective Division currently consists of nine police officers. Tewksbury Police Detectives investigate all major crimes, including (but not limited to) homicide, rape, robbery, burglary, arson, breaking and entering, larceny, fraud, juvenile crime, assault and battery, and drug trafficking/distribution. Detectives are tasked with following leads/evidence developed during the preliminary stage of an investigation through to the successful conclusion/prosecution of the incident/offenders. The Detectives receive specialized training in the arts of fingerprinting, photography, interviewing, interrogation, drug recognition/interdiction, evidence collection, and crime scene preservation. The Detective Division’s goal is to provide professional service to the community.

Detective Lieutenant              Ryan Columbus
Detective/Juvenile Crime       Michael Sheehan         
Detect./Evidence Officer       Andre Gonzalez                                               
Detective                               Douglas Pratt
Detective                               Brian Farnum
Detective                               Brian O’Neill
Detective                               Jessica Mulvey
Detective                               Dennis Peterson Jr.
Firefighter/Arson Investig      Lieutenant Scott Keddie

Members of the public who possess information about a crime or drug activity, are encouraged to contact the Police Department at (978)-851-7373.  Those who wish to remain anonymous may call the Drug Hotline at  978-851-0175.


Motorcycle Unit
1062009_42827_0.pngThe Tewksbury Police Motorcycle Unit currently has two motorcycles and seven motor officers on various shifts. The Motor Unit is responsible for patrol activities such as enforcing traffic laws, responding to emergency situations, funeral escorts and parade details.  Each motor officer must complete the Northwestern Traffic Institute motorcycle operator’s class.  The Northwestern Traffic Institute offers one of the most difficult motorcycle classes in the nation.  The Tewksbury Police Department has a certified N.W.T.I. instructor, Officer James Hollis.  Officer Hollis has taught numerous classes and recertifies each officer annually. The Tewksbury Police Department has two motor officers assigned to the Northeastern Massachusetts Law Enforcement Council Motorcycle Unit, Lieutenant Ryan Columbus and Officer Andre Gonzalez.  They are currently assigned to the N.E.M.L.E.C. Unit which has approximately fifty members from numerous area police departments.  The unit is continuously training and has been called out for various occasions such as the 2004 World Series and championship parades for the Boston Red Sox and New England Patriots. Listed below are the officers in the department who participate in the motorcycle unit.

Lieutenant Ryan Columbus
Sergeant Timothy Kelly
Sergeant Patrick Harrington
Officer Kevin Reese
Officer James Hollis
Officer Andre Gonzalez
Officer Arthur Piccolo
Officer Christopher Scott
Officer Peter Regan


Regional Response Team   (RRT)
1062009_41916_0.jpgThe Tewksbury Police Department is a member of the North Eastern Massachusetts Law Enforcement Council (NEMLEC). The North Eastern Massachusetts Law Enforcement Council (NEMLEC) is a consortium of 46 Police Departments in Middlesex and Essex Counties, as well as the Essex County Sheriff and Middlesex County Sheriff. The members of the organization operate pursuant to an interagency mutual aid and assistance agreement. As part of this agreement, each member commits resources from its law enforcement agency to assist other members in an effort to increase and improve their capabilities and capacities. NEMLEC is comprised of a Regional Response Team (which includes a Tactical Unit, Special Weapons and Tactics Unit “SWAT”, K-9 Unit, and School Threat Assessment and Response System Unit “STARS”), Motor Unit,  Computer Crime Unit, Accident Reconstruction Unit, and a Crime Scene Services Unit. Officers associated with the various Units receive specialized training in crowd/riot control, crisis negotiations, response to school violence, use of specialized weapons, drug interdiction, and many other areas of specialization within the law enforcement profession. .     

Chief Alfred Donovan is currently the Assistant Control Chief of the NEMLEC RRT.  In addition, there are currently nine Tewksbury Police Officers assigned to NEMLEC Units (7 RRT and 2 Motor Unit).  These Officers have assisted in the security of many major events in the last five years, including the Democratic National Convention, Raytheon Strike, Red Sox Playoffs, World Series, and Parade, Wakefield Protests, and the Patriots Superbowl Championship Parades. This Unit also went to Washington D. C. to assist with security for the inauguration ceremony of the President. NEMLEC is a nationally recognized organization known for it’s experience and professionalism.  

Administrative Superintendent   John Voto                    
Lieutenant                                  Thomas Casey                               
Sergeant                                     Robert Field
Sergeant                                    Timothy Kelly (K9 Unit)